PAS Notes

Graham Whitehouse

Moving a P11D Organiser Installation

By Graham Whitehouse | 19 May 15 | In: Top Tips

Introduction
This is a quick guide to assist with moving a P11D Organiser installation – this may be from an old PC to a new one, or from one shared drive to another.


Preparation
Before you move your system from one place to another, always make sure you perform an internal backup of the P11D Organiser first. This can be achieved by pressing F3 whilst in the program and then clicking OK. Although this will ensure your valuable data is backed up, please note that it DOES NOT back up everything you need to move a system.



Copying the P11D Organiser Directory
Locate where the current installation is – you can find this by right clicking on your desktop shortcut and selecting Properties

You will need to copy the whole folder that contains the P11D.exe (in this example the complete “P11D” folder).
We need to copy the entire directory for a couple of reasons, firstly to maintain the user security, but also to ensure the full history is maintained.

You then need to ‘paste’ this folder to the required new location. Remember to ensure that ALL potential users of the system have access to the new location – they will need to be able to navigate to the directory and have full access rights – whether by mapping the drive or UNC path.


Downloading the Latest Installer
The next stage is to download the latest setup/installer from the P11D Organiser web site – navigate to www.p11dorganiser.co.uk and then select the Support link from the top of the page. Locate the setup download location (on the right hand side) and download the application.




Completing the Move
Now run the installer, and when you get to the choice of Performing a new installation or Updating your existing installation, ensure you choose to ‘update’.

As you progress to the next step of the installation process you will be asked to navigate to the location of the existing installation – you need to locate the P11D folder that you have just copied to the new location.

The installer will display a message saying that the directory already exists, and asking if you want to install anyway – answer Yes to this.

The last process in the installation routine is to set up the local machine with the necessary shortcuts and driver software – therefore answer to setup this machine”.



Other Workstations
Once the installation is complete you will then need to connect any other workstation clients to the new database – simply repeat the final process detailed above, in each case navigating to the new location and then setting up the machine accordingly.


Clean Up
Although it makes sense to keep the old P11D Organiser installation in place until you are completely happy with the move, ensure you rename the ‘old’ folder to make it clear that it is no longer to be used.

To download a PDF version of this guide – click here